Bishop Challoner School - Class of 1966

                 

Next reunion: Saturday 25 February 2012

Click here to see photos of the 2009 reunion, with Tim Williams, Tony Clarke, Neil Simpson and Julian Caruana from the class of 1968.

In 2009 we will all have spent our winter fuel allowance and be in our seventh decade.

We will be at the Yasmin's Indian restaurant, Hastings Road, Bromley Common - 100 metres to the south of Bromley Common Bus Garage from 7:30pm.  After that we will move on to the Bird in Hand, Gravel Road, Bromley Common, Kent at 9pm. The maps give the locations.

Enlarged are shown below X marks the restaurant, and O marks the Bird in Hand Pub:

Bishop Challoner School - Class of 1966

(Previously Shortland's House School)

Staff

First name Surname Subject 1958-1965 Latest
Photo
Details
Robert (Head) Nee History

(Died 1996?)

 
Chris Bates Chemistry

Chris Bates

Chris Bates 2006

  Bird  

   
Father Byrne  

   
Coles Junior school

  Divine  

   
  Fairman Junior school

 
  Fitch Junior School

Mr Fitch

   
  Goodman Junior school

   
  Hamera  

   
  Hogan  

   
  Kilpatrick  

   
Daniel O'Donoghue Physics

   
Father Slaughter French      
Ernest Moss English

   
David Shaw Mathematics

Mr Shaw (1966)

   
Orchard Mathematics

  Ellis-Robinson English

   
  Rogers French      
  Misiat Russian & Woodwork

   
  Williams Junior School

   
  Worthington Latin

   
  Unknown 1  

Email me if you know who this is.  
  Kitten History

   
  Love Cook

Mrs Love (1966)

   
  Gregory Secretary

   

Pupils

First name Surname Nickname circa 1958 1962 circa 1966 Latest Details
               
Graham

Beacom

    Graham Beacom in 1962 Graham Beacom (1966)

Lives in Bromley, Kent.
Chris Bell            
James Boyle

Jim

    Jim Boyle (1966)    
  Bradshaw    

     
James Brew

Ted

  Joseph (Ted) Brew (1966)

Joseph (Ted) Brew 2003

 
Chris Burren          
Chris Callen    

Chris Callen

 

Lives in Singapore with wife Helen. Has 3 children.
Chris Caruana      

Chris Caruana (2003)

 
John Clark    

     
Lawrence Clarke    

     
Jim Conlon    

     
David Crane  

David Crane

 
Stewart Crocker    

Stewart Crocker (1966)

Stewart Crocker (2003)

 
Robert Delaney            
Michael Dent    

 
Michael Dick    

Michael Dick (1966)

 
Peter Doig        

Peter Doig

 
Robert Duck  

Chris Callen

       
Jeremy Fenn

Jerry

    Jerry Fenn (1966)

Jerry died in July 2007. He lived near Gloucester.
Michael Francis            
Phillip Gegan His sister was an Olympic swimmer?  

 
Adrian Gilbert    

     
? Gregory His mother was school secretary.        
Alan Gribben            
Mike Harding    

     
Ian Helvensteyn    

 

Ian Helvensteyn

 
Brian Herring    

     
Francis Johnson

Frank

Francis (Frank) Johnson (1966)

  Francis Johnson

 
Adrian Kemp          
Barry Lamble            
  Mallett    

     
Mark Markovitch    

     
David Martin    

 

David Martin (2003)

 
Chris Mayberry            
Kevin McArdell    

Kevin McArdell in 1962

Kevin McArdell (1966) Kevin McArdell in 2006  
Michael Moran    

 

 
David Nichols  

 

Dave Nicholls

 
Paul Norgrove

Nod

 

Paul Norgrove (1966)   Paul died on 22 May 2004 
Vincent North            
Alan O'Toole    

     
James Palmer

Jim

 

James Palmer (1966)

 
David Quarington     David Quarrington

Lives and works in Cairo, Egypt.
Clive Russell          
  Stecker            
Robert Tring

Bob

 

 

Robert Tring (2003)

 
Gerald Tyrrell          
Eddie Vietenthal       Eddie Vietenthal (1966)

 
Sheridan Williams   Sheridan Williams in 1958

Sheridan Williams in 1962

 

Sheridan Williams in 2003

Lives near Leighton Buzzard in Beds. Now retired.
      Who is this?

If you know, email me quoting "Unknown C"    
      Who is this?

If you know, email me quoting "Unknown D"    
      Who is this?

If you know, email me quoting "Unknown E"    
      Who is this?

If you know, email me quoting "Unknown F"    

Click here for more pictures of David Crane, Ed Veitenthal.

Reunion on 28 February 2009

Photos taken at Yasmin's Indian Restaurant

Tim Williams, Tony Clarke, David Crane, Michael Dick, Graham Beacom, Julian Caruana, Chris Caruana  Julian Caruana, Neil Simpson, Willie von Schmidt, David Martin, Tim Williams, Tony Clarke

 

Tim Williams, Tony Clarke, David Crane, Michael Dick, Graham Beacom, Julian Caruana, Chris Caruana  Julian Caruana, Neil Simpson, Willie von Schmidt, David Martin, Tim Williams, Tony Clarke

Reunion on 23 February 2008

Photos taken at Yasmin's Indian Restaurant

Afterwards we repaired to the Bird in Hand, Gravel Road, Bromley, Kent

Michael Dick and Gavin Dick Graham Beacom and Sheridan Williams
David Crane and Graham Beacom Gavin Dick and Dave Quarington
Sheridan and Jim Palmer Bob Tring and Gavin Dick

Chris Caruana was present also, but strangely there are no pictures of him.

Reunion on 22 February 2003 at the Bird in Hand, Gravel Road, Bromley, Kent

Left to Right: Bob Tring, Ted Brew, Stewart Crocker, Dave Martin and Sheridan Williams

Left to Right: David Crane, Chris Caruana, Dave Martin, Sheridan Williams, Stewart Crocker, Ted Brew and Graham Beacom

Reunion on 28 February 2004 at the Bird in Hand, Gravel Road, Bromley, Kent

Left to right: Graham Beacom, David Martin, David Crane, Stewart Crocker, Michael Dent, Sheridan Williams (Bob Tring left before the photo was taken)

Reunion on 26 February 2005 at the Bird in Hand, Gravel Road, Bromley, Kent

Bernard & Michael Dick and Chris Caruana

From left to right: Bernard Goodwin, Michael Dick, Gavin Dick, Chris Caruana

Graham Beacom, David Crane, Sheridan Williams, David Goodwin

From left to right front row:  Graham Beacom, David Crane, Sheridan Williams, David Goodwin.

David Martin, Ian Helvensteyn, Michael Dent and Stewart Crocker sent their apologies for not being able to attend.

Reunion on 25 February 2006 at the Bird in Hand, Gravel Road, Bromley, Kent

 
Michael Dick Gavin Dick  
Dave Martin Chris Bates and Sheridan Williams David Crane, Dave Nicholls and who?
 
Chris Caruana and Michael Dick Who?  

Graham Beacom and Ted Brew were also there. Michael Dent and Stewart Crocker sent their apologies.

2007 Reunion

From left to right: Michael Dick, Ian Helvensteyn, David Crane, Dave Townsley (not part of the school group), Graham Beacom.

Peter Byrne from an earlier year introduced himself -

School magazine covers for 1962 and 1965

Magazine 1962  Magazine 1965

Cuttings from the magazines

 

1962 School group photo containing all our teachers and fellow pupils together with classes above and below

Note that this is a very wide panorama 1Mb in size. This will take several minutes to appear using a dial-up line.
Click here at your peril.

Junior School circa 1958

Left to right
Top row:        Robert Nee (Head), Julian Caruana, Andrew Juras, ?, Father Byrne, Sheridan Williams, David Sugar, Peter MacKillop, Andrew Kemp, Mrs Psolkham
Bottom row:    Andrew Griffiths, Aiden Roache, Timothy White, Clive Russell, Leonard Clark, Anthony Goodyear, Francis Nee, ?,

Left to right
Top row:       Gerald Tyrrell, ?, ?, ?, Chris Caruana, ?, ?, Clive Russell, ?, ?, Peter Doig, Francis Johnson
Bottom row:  Michael Dent, Chris Burren, Gregory Goodman, Peter Gregory, ?, David Crane, ?, ?, Aidan Kemp, Stewart Crocker, Robert Duck

More pictures

Ed Veitenthal at Hooley circa 1975

Ed Veitenthal at Flinthill circa 1974

Ed Veitenthal at Hooley circa 1965 Ed Veitenthal at Flinthill circa 1974
   
David Crane at Dobson Lock Forge David Crane at Dobson Lock Forge entrance
David Crane at Dobson Lock Forge David Crane at Dobson Lock Forge entrance
 

Take a look at the Class above us (1965)

Take a look at the Class below us (1967)

Take a look the Class of 1968

Additions and amendments to: school@bc1966.com

EMAIL people

You can contact the following people by appending @bc1966.co.uk to the following (e.g. to email Fred Bloggs send email to f.bloggs@bc1966.co.uk):

Chris Bates:   c.bates
Chris Caruana:   c.caruana
David Crane:   d.crane
David Martin:   d.martin
Ted Brew:   t.brew
Graham Beacom:   g.beacom
Stewart Crocker:   s.crocker
Mike Dent m.dent
Michael Dick:   m.dick
Philip Gegan p.gegan
Ian Helvensteyn:   i.helvensteyn
Francis Johnson f.johnson
Kevin McArdell:   k.mcardell
Dave Quarington d.quarington
Bob Tring r.tring
Sheridan Williams:   s.williams

Example: to email Fred Bloggs send email to f.bloggs@bc1966.co.uk

School details:

Bishop Challoner School, 228 Bromley Road, Shortlands, Kent BR2 0BS

http://www.bishopchallonerschool.com/

Have you noticed that you can post details about yourself on the Bishop Challoner website under "Past Pupils"?

Tel: 020 8460 3546 / Fax: 020 8466 8885/ e-mail:office@bishopchallonerschool.com

Information compiled by Sheridan Williams and last updated on 18 December 2009